Page data last changed: . Chemistry registry snapshot: . Registry refreshes and identity assessments are separate from scientific content review.
A GLP-1 analogue built to signal without internalising its receptor — approved in China in 2026 for both diabetes and weight.
Also known as: XW003 · VRB-101 (oral formulation) · econoglutide
Part of the Metabolic & GLP-1 peptides cluster
Overview
Ecnoglutide (XW003) is a long-acting, cAMP-biased GLP-1 receptor agonist from Sciwind Biosciences: a human GLP-1 analogue with an Ala8Val substitution and a C18 fatty diacid that activates cAMP signalling without driving receptor internalisation. Approved in China in January 2026 for type 2 diabetes and March 2026 for weight management, it produced 13.2% weight loss at 40 weeks in its phase 3 obesity trial versus 0.1% with placebo.
Source & context
Biological / chemical source: Synthetic human GLP-1 analogue (Sciwind Biosciences) with Ala8Val substitution and a γGlu-2×AEEA-linked C18 fatty diacid
Primary research or clinical context: Approved in China (January 2026, type 2 diabetes; March 2026, chronic weight management); investigational elsewhere and as a weekly oral formulation
What ecnoglutide is
Ecnoglutide (XW003) is an analogue of the incretin hormone GLP-1 reported as a long-acting, cAMP-biased GLP-1 receptor agonist: it induces cAMP-mediated signalling but does not promote receptor internalisation (IUPHAR ligand 13970). Subcutaneous ecnoglutide received its first approval in China in January 2026 for glycaemic control in adults with type 2 diabetes, and in March 2026 for long-term weight management in adults with obesity or overweight with a weight-related comorbidity (Shirley, Drugs 2026). Its formula is C194H304N48O61 and its mass about 4,285 Da (PubChem CID 162625103).
Structure and design
The discovery paper describes a series of GLP-1 analogues carrying an alanine-to-valine substitution at position 8 (Ala8Val) and a γGlu-2×AEEA-linked C18 diacid fatty acid at various positions; ecnoglutide was selected from that series and characterised in GLP-1 receptor signalling assays, db/db mice and diet-induced obese rats before a phase 1 single- and multiple-ascending-dose study (Guo et al., Molecular Metabolism 2023). The C18 diacid with two OEG spacers is the same albumin-binding chemistry as semaglutide; the difference is the position-8 residue — valine rather than Aib — and the biased signalling profile.
Why biased signalling
GLP-1 receptor activation triggers both cAMP production and β-arrestin recruitment; the latter leads to receptor internalisation and desensitisation. An agonist that favours cAMP over β-arrestin is expected to sustain signalling with less receptor loss (He et al., Lancet Diabetes & Endocrinology 2025). Tirzepatide's GLP-1 receptor activity is also described as biased in this direction; the tirzepatide profile on this site covers that pharmacology.
Phase 3 in obesity
In a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled phase 3 trial at 36 centres in China, 664 adults with overweight or obesity without diabetes received once-weekly ecnoglutide 1.2, 1.8 or 2.4 mg or placebo. At week 40 the least-squares mean weight change was −9.1%, −10.9% and −13.2% versus +0.1%; at least 5% weight loss was achieved by 77%, 84% and 87% versus 16%. Treatment-emergent adverse events occurred in 93% of each ecnoglutide group and 84% on placebo, mostly mild-to-moderate gastrointestinal events (Ji et al., Lancet Diabetes & Endocrinology 2025).
| Arm | Weight change | ≥5% weight loss |
|---|---|---|
| Placebo (n=165) | +0.1% | 16% |
| Ecnoglutide 1.2 mg | −9.1% | 77% |
| Ecnoglutide 1.8 mg | −10.9% | 84% |
| Ecnoglutide 2.4 mg | −13.2% | 87% |
Type 2 diabetes: EECOH-1 and EECOH-2
In EECOH-2, a 52-week open-label phase 3 trial at 52 Chinese hospitals, 621 adults with type 2 diabetes on metformin received ecnoglutide 0.6 or 1.2 mg or dulaglutide 1.5 mg weekly. HbA1c fell by 1.91% and 1.89% with ecnoglutide versus 1.65% with dulaglutide at week 32, meeting non-inferiority, with the 1.2 mg dose statistically superior (difference −0.24%, p=0.0002); discontinuations for adverse events were 3–4% across arms (He et al., 2025). EECOH-1 tested ecnoglutide monotherapy against placebo (Zhu et al., Nature Communications 2026), following a phase 2 trial in type 2 diabetes (Zhu et al., Nature Communications 2024).
Oral formulation and further trials
A weekly oral formulation, VRB-101, developed by Verdiva Bio, completed a phase 2 trial in obesity in 2025 (NCT07281937), with a further oral combination study recruiting (NCT07628127). Sciwind has phase 3 trials in obesity with obstructive sleep apnoea (NCT07434050, NCT07387094) and knee osteoarthritis (NCT07734311). ClinicalTrials.gov lists 14 studies as of September 2026. A 2026 BMJ network meta-analysis of 262 obesity drug trials includes ecnoglutide among the agents compared (Nong et al., BMJ 2026).
Status outside China and what this page is not
Ecnoglutide is approved only in China as of September 2026. Vials sold elsewhere under the name are unlicensed; this profile is educational and not guidance on obtaining or using any product.
Structure & chemistry
Molecular identity & reference confidence
Source-supported reference
Reference values are taken from the cited molecular record or curated profile. A database match is not independent laboratory verification; modifications, counter-ions, and formulations can change the measured mass.
- Molecular form
- Human GLP-1 analogue with an alanine-to-valine substitution at position 8
- Species
- Not established by this molecular identity audit
- Termini (N / C)
- Not specified / Not specified
Average reference mass
Reference policy updated: 2026-10-05
- IUPHAR/BPS source snapshot · 2026-10-01
- PubChem molecular record · 2026-10-01
- Molecular formula
- C194H304N48O61
- Average reference mass
- ≈ 4,285
- Receptors
- GLP-1 receptor — cAMP-biased agonist (preferential cAMP signalling over β-arrestin recruitment; no receptor internalisation)
- Backbone
- Human GLP-1 analogue with an alanine-to-valine substitution at position 8
- Lipidation
- C18 fatty diacid linked through γ-glutamate and two AEEA (OEG) spacers
- Status
- Approved in China: type 2 diabetes (January 2026), long-term weight management (March 2026). Not approved elsewhere as of September 2026
- PubChem CID: 162625103
- IUPHAR ligand: 13970
- DrugBank: DB19019
- CAS RN: 2459531-73-6
- UNII: KM6YM7L8LH
Chemistry values: curated profile, PubChem, IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology · fetched 2026-10-01.
Clinical development snapshot
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 15 registered studies with “Ecnoglutide” as an intervention (snapshot 2026-10-01). A registry footprint is not evidence of efficacy or approval.
| NCT | Title | Phase | Status | Updated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCT07836270 | A Study of Ecnoglutide Injection in Overweight or Obese Chinese Adolescents | Phase 3 | not yet recruiting | 2026-09-23 |
| NCT07243171 | A Phase Ib/IIa Study to Evaluate the Safety, Tolerability, Pharmacokinetics and Pharmacodynamics of Oral Ecnog | Phase 2 | recruiting | 2026-09-16 |
| NCT07734311 | A Study of Econoglutide Injection in Obese Participants With Knee Osteoarthritis (KOA) | Phase 3 | recruiting | 2026-08-31 |
| NCT07387094 | A Study of XW003 in Obese Participants With Obstructive Sleep Apnea But Not Receive Positive Airway Pressure T | Phase 3 | recruiting | 2026-08-28 |
| NCT07434050 | A Study of XW003 in Obese Participants With Obstructive Sleep Apnea Receiving Positive Airway Pressure Therapy | Phase 3 | recruiting | 2026-08-28 |
| NCT07281937 | A Study of Weekly Oral Ecnoglutide (VRB-101) in Participants Who Have Obesity or Overweight With Weight-Relate | Phase 2 | completed | 2026-08-17 |
Ecnoglutide — reconstitution calculator
Enter how much peptide is in the vial and how much diluent (e.g. bacteriostatic water) is added. The tool returns the resulting solution concentration — and, for any amount you type, the volume it corresponds to. This is educational arithmetic, not a dosing recommendation.
Reference form: Human GLP-1 analogue with an alanine-to-valine substitution at position 8Average reference mass: 4,285 Da
Enter an amount to see the volume it corresponds to.
Educational concentration mathematics only. This tool does not recommend a dose, amount, or protocol, and nothing here is medical advice. Many peptides are not authorized by Health Canada for human use — see our reconstitution and bacteriostatic-water guides for context.
Change log
Dated observations from the data pipeline (registry flags, trial footprints, identifiers) and editorial reviews of this profile.
- Trials1 registered study added on ClinicalTrials.gov (now 15).
- IdentifiersCross-linked to IUPHAR ligand 13970 and PubChem CID 162625103.
- TrialsClinicalTrials.gov snapshot added: 14 registered studies, highest phase 3.
- EditorialProfile content reviewed and updated by the editorial team.
FAQ about Ecnoglutide
What is Ecnoglutide?+
Ecnoglutide (XW003) is a long-acting, cAMP-biased GLP-1 receptor agonist from Sciwind Biosciences: a human GLP-1 analogue with an Ala8Val substitution and a C18 fatty diacid that activates cAMP signalling without driving receptor internalisation. Approved in China in January 2026 for type 2 diabetes and March 2026 for weight management, it produced 13.2% weight loss at 40 weeks in its phase 3 obesity trial versus 0.1% with placebo.
What Canadian product status is recorded for Ecnoglutide?+
Canadian product status for Ecnoglutide has not been verified in this profile. No verified record here does not mean no authorization exists. Status depends on the product, formulation and use; consult Health Canada's product records.
What is the typical length of Ecnoglutide?+
Ecnoglutide is not a classic amino-acid chain peptide in the same sense; see the profile for classification details.
What is ecnoglutide?+
XW003, a long-acting cAMP-biased GLP-1 receptor agonist from Sciwind Biosciences, approved in China in 2026 for type 2 diabetes and for weight management.
How much weight loss did ecnoglutide produce?+
−13.2% at 40 weeks on 2.4 mg weekly versus +0.1% with placebo in its Chinese phase 3 trial.
Is ecnoglutide approved?+
In China: yes, January 2026 (type 2 diabetes) and March 2026 (weight management). Not in the US, Canada or EU as of September 2026.
How is ecnoglutide different from semaglutide?+
Both are lipidated human GLP-1 analogues; ecnoglutide uses valine rather than Aib at position 8 and is engineered to favour cAMP signalling without receptor internalisation.
Is there an oral ecnoglutide?+
A weekly oral formulation (VRB-101) completed a phase 2 obesity trial in 2025.
Related peptides
References & further reading
- 1.Ji et al. (2025). Efficacy and safety of a biased GLP-1 receptor agonist ecnoglutide in adults with overweight or obesity: a multicentre, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3 trial. Lancet Diabetes & Endocrinology
- 2.He et al. (2025). Efficacy and safety of cAMP-biased GLP-1 receptor agonist ecnoglutide versus dulaglutide in patients with type 2 diabetes (EECOH-2). Lancet Diabetes & Endocrinology
- 3.Guo et al. (2023). Discovery of ecnoglutide — A novel, long-acting, cAMP-biased glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) analog. Molecular Metabolism
- 4.Shirley (2026). Ecnoglutide: First Approvals. Drugs
- 5.Zhu et al. (2026). Efficacy and safety of cAMP signalling-biased GLP-1 analogue ecnoglutide monotherapy versus placebo in patients with type 2 diabetes (EECOH-1). Nature Communications
- 6.Zhu et al. (2024). Efficacy and safety of GLP-1 analog ecnoglutide in adults with type 2 diabetes: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled phase 2 trial. Nature Communications
- 7.PubChem — compound summary for Ecnoglutide (CID 162625103)