Page data last changed: . Chemistry registry snapshot: . Registry refreshes and identity assessments are separate from scientific content review.
The second osteoanabolic peptide after teriparatide — built on PTHrP rather than PTH, with less hypercalcaemia in its pivotal trial.
Also known as: BA058 · BIM-44058 · Tymlos (brand) · PTHrP(1-34) analogue
Part of the Growth hormone & IGF peptides cluster
Overview
Abaloparatide is a synthetic 34-residue analogue of parathyroid hormone-related protein (PTHrP) that activates parathyroid hormone receptors to increase bone formation and bone mineral density. The FDA approved it in April 2017 for postmenopausal women with osteoporosis at high fracture risk, after a phase 3 trial showed fewer new fractures than placebo and less hypercalcaemia than teriparatide.
Source & context
Biological / chemical source: Synthetic analogue of the 34 N-terminal residues of human PTHrP
Primary research or clinical context: Approved (FDA, April 2017) for postmenopausal women with osteoporosis at high risk of fracture
What abaloparatide is
Abaloparatide is a synthetic peptide modelled on the first 34 residues of human parathyroid hormone-related protein (PTHrP). It belongs to the small class of osteoanabolic drugs — medicines that build bone rather than merely slowing its breakdown — alongside teriparatide, which is the equivalent fragment of parathyroid hormone (PTH) itself, and the antibody romosozumab. The IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology records its FDA approval in April 2017 for postmenopausal women with osteoporosis at high risk of fracture, and it is marketed as Tymlos. Its development codes were BA058 and BIM-44058.
Mechanism: the parathyroid hormone receptor
PTH and PTHrP share a receptor, PTH1R, and both stimulate osteoblasts when the receptor is activated intermittently rather than continuously. Abaloparatide activates parathyroid hormone receptors to stimulate osteoblast-dependent bone formation, increasing bone formation markers and bone mineral density (IUPHAR mechanism record). Reviews of osteoporosis therapeutics classify it with teriparatide as an osteoanabolic agent and with romosozumab, which has a dual anabolic and antiresorptive action, and describe sequential regimens in which an anabolic agent is followed by an antiresorptive to consolidate gains (Sølling et al., Annual Review of Medicine 2026).
Structure: PTHrP rather than PTH
Teriparatide is PTH(1-34); abaloparatide is a PTHrP(1-34) analogue. The two parent hormones share the N-terminal region that engages PTH1R but differ elsewhere, and the analogue's residue changes were selected to favour a receptor conformation associated with a shorter signalling burst — the property that the IUPHAR record links to its lower rate of hypercalcaemia relative to teriparatide. The full residue-level sequence is not deposited in the IUPHAR ligand record, so this profile does not display one; PubChem holds the compound record and molecular formula.
Clinical evidence
The pivotal phase 3 trial (NCT01343004) in postmenopausal women with osteoporosis showed a reduced risk of new fractures with abaloparatide compared with placebo, with a slight benefit over the already-approved PTH analogue teriparatide, and a lower incidence of hypercalcaemia than in the teriparatide arm (IUPHAR clinical-use record). A living network meta-analysis for the American College of Physicians places abaloparatide among fracture-reducing treatments in postmenopausal osteoporosis, with bisphosphonates and denosumab carrying the highest-certainty evidence (Ayers et al., Annals of Internal Medicine 2023). A 2025 review compares the clinical effects of teriparatide, abaloparatide and romosozumab head-on (Ebina et al., Journal of Bone and Mineral Metabolism 2025).
Where it sits in current guidelines
Osteoporosis guidelines from the UK National Osteoporosis Guideline Group (Gregson et al., Archives of Osteoporosis 2025) and the Bone Health and Osteoporosis Foundation (LeBoff et al., Osteoporosis International 2022) frame anabolic agents as options for people at very high fracture risk, typically followed by antiresorptive therapy. ClinicalTrials.gov lists 25 registered studies naming abaloparatide as of September 2026, including post-approval trials combining it with ongoing denosumab (NCT04467983), giving it before knee arthroplasty (NCT04167163) and around spinal fusion surgery (NCT03841058).
Abaloparatide vs teriparatide
Both are once-daily injectable 34-residue fragments acting on PTH1R; both are approved osteoanabolics. The difference is the parent hormone — PTHrP for abaloparatide, PTH for teriparatide — and, in the pivotal comparison, a lower rate of hypercalcaemia with abaloparatide alongside slightly greater fracture benefit (IUPHAR record). The teriparatide profile on this site covers the PTH side of the pair.
Status and what this page is not
Abaloparatide is a prescription medicine approved by the FDA; this profile describes its pharmacology and evidence for educational purposes and is not guidance on its use. Material sold online as “research abaloparatide” is not the approved product.
Structure & chemistry
Molecular identity & reference confidence
Source-supported reference
Reference values are taken from the cited molecular record or curated profile. A database match is not independent laboratory verification; modifications, counter-ions, and formulations can change the measured mass.
- Molecular form
- Synthetic analogue of the 34 amino-terminal residues of human parathyroid hormone-related protein (PTHrP)
- Species
- Not established by this molecular identity audit
- Termini (N / C)
- Not specified / Not specified
Average reference mass
Reference policy updated: 2026-10-05
- IUPHAR/BPS source snapshot · 2026-10-01
- PubChem molecular record · 2026-10-01
- Molecular formula
- C174H300N56O49
- Average reference mass
- ≈ 3,961
- Receptors
- Parathyroid hormone receptors (PTH1R), driving osteoblast-dependent bone formation
- Backbone
- Synthetic analogue of the 34 amino-terminal residues of human parathyroid hormone-related protein (PTHrP)
- Status
- Approved: FDA (2017) for postmenopausal osteoporosis at high fracture risk
- PubChem CID: 76943386
- IUPHAR ligand: 8299
- CAS RN: 247062-33-5
- UNII: AVK0I6HY2U
Chemistry values: curated profile, PubChem, IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology · fetched 2026-10-01.
Clinical development snapshot
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 25 registered studies with “Abaloparatide” as an intervention (snapshot 2026-10-01). A registry footprint is not evidence of efficacy or approval.
| NCT | Title | Phase | Status | Updated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCT03841058 | Abaloparatide vs. Placebo in Post-Menopausal Women and Abaloparatide in Men Receiving Initial Spinal Fusion Su | Phase 2 | active not recruiting | 2026-09-28 |
| NCT07587775 | The Effect of Osteoporotic Medications on Vertebral Bone Quality Score | Phase 2 | enrolling by invitation | 2026-07-23 |
| NCT06164795 | Sequential Therapies After Osteoanabolic Treatment | — | recruiting | 2026-07-22 |
| NCT04467983 | Abaloparatide Added to Ongoing Denosumab vs Continued Denosumab Alone | Phase 4 | active not recruiting | 2026-06-08 |
| NCT04167163 | Abaloparatide Before Total Knee Arthroplasty | Phase 4 | completed | 2026-06-05 |
| NCT07616401 | MicroRNA and Markers and Therapeutic Response to Romosozumab and Abaloparatide in Postmenopausal Osteoporosis | Not applicable | recruiting | 2026-06-01 |
Abaloparatide — reconstitution calculator
Enter how much peptide is in the vial and how much diluent (e.g. bacteriostatic water) is added. The tool returns the resulting solution concentration — and, for any amount you type, the volume it corresponds to. This is educational arithmetic, not a dosing recommendation.
Reference form: Synthetic analogue of the 34 amino-terminal residues of human parathyroid hormone-related protein (PTHrP)Average reference mass: 3,961 Da
Enter an amount to see the volume it corresponds to.
Educational concentration mathematics only. This tool does not recommend a dose, amount, or protocol, and nothing here is medical advice. Many peptides are not authorized by Health Canada for human use — see our reconstitution and bacteriostatic-water guides for context.
Change log
Dated observations from the data pipeline (registry flags, trial footprints, identifiers) and editorial reviews of this profile.
- EditorialProfile content reviewed and updated by the editorial team.
FAQ about Abaloparatide
What is Abaloparatide?+
Abaloparatide is a synthetic 34-residue analogue of parathyroid hormone-related protein (PTHrP) that activates parathyroid hormone receptors to increase bone formation and bone mineral density. The FDA approved it in April 2017 for postmenopausal women with osteoporosis at high fracture risk, after a phase 3 trial showed fewer new fractures than placebo and less hypercalcaemia than teriparatide.
What Canadian product status is recorded for Abaloparatide?+
Canadian product status for Abaloparatide has not been verified in this profile. No verified record here does not mean no authorization exists. Status depends on the product, formulation and use; consult Health Canada's product records.
What is the typical length of Abaloparatide?+
Abaloparatide is commonly described as approximately 34 amino acids (Parathyroid hormone-related protein analogue).
What is abaloparatide?+
A synthetic 34-residue analogue of parathyroid hormone-related protein (PTHrP) that activates parathyroid hormone receptors to build bone. It is approved (FDA, 2017) for postmenopausal osteoporosis at high fracture risk and sold as Tymlos.
Is abaloparatide approved?+
Yes. The FDA approved it in April 2017 for postmenopausal women with osteoporosis at high risk of fracture.
How does abaloparatide work?+
It activates parathyroid hormone receptors on bone cells, stimulating osteoblast-dependent bone formation and increasing bone mineral density.
Abaloparatide vs teriparatide — what is the difference?+
Teriparatide is a PTH(1-34) fragment; abaloparatide is a PTHrP(1-34) analogue. In the pivotal phase 3 trial abaloparatide showed slightly greater fracture benefit and less hypercalcaemia than teriparatide.
Related peptides
References & further reading
- 1.Miller et al. (2016). Effect of Abaloparatide vs Placebo on New Vertebral Fractures in Postmenopausal Women With Osteoporosis: A Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA
- 2.Ebina et al. (2025). Clinical effects of teriparatide, abaloparatide, and romosozumab in postmenopausal osteoporosis. J Bone Miner Metab
- 3.Gonnelli et al. (2016). Abaloparatide. Clin Cases Miner Bone Metab
- 4.Bone et al. (2018). ACTIVExtend: 24 Months of Alendronate After 18 Months of Abaloparatide or Placebo for Postmenopausal Osteoporosis. J Clin Endocrinol Metab
- 5.Shirley (2017). Abaloparatide: First Global Approval. Drugs
- 6.Simmons BF 3rd et al. (2019). Abaloparatide (Tymlos) for Osteoporosis. Am Fam Physician
- 7.Sølling et al. (2026). Recent Advances in Osteoporosis Therapeutics. Annual Review of Medicine
- 8.Ayers et al. (2023). Effectiveness and Safety of Treatments to Prevent Fractures in People With Low Bone Mass or Primary Osteoporosis: A Living Systematic Review and Network Meta-analysis. Annals of Internal Medicine
- 9.LeBoff et al. (2022). The clinician's guide to prevention and treatment of osteoporosis. Osteoporosis International
- 10.Gregson et al. (2025). The 2024 UK clinical guideline for the prevention and treatment of osteoporosis. Archives of Osteoporosis
- 11.PubChem — compound summary for Abaloparatide (CID 76943386)