Page data last changed: . Chemistry registry snapshot: . Registry refreshes and identity assessments are separate from scientific content review.
A cone-snail venom peptide that blocks N-type calcium channels for pain.
Also known as: Prialt
Part of the Foundational & therapeutic peptides cluster
Overview
Ziconotide is the synthetic form of an ω-conotoxin, a 25-amino-acid peptide from cone snail venom that selectively blocks N-type voltage-gated calcium channels. Delivered directly into cerebrospinal fluid by an intrathecal pump, it is an approved therapeutic for severe, refractory chronic pain. Content here is educational only.
Source & context
Biological / chemical source: Synthetic ω-conotoxin from cone snail venom
Primary research or clinical context: Approved for severe chronic pain via intrathecal infusion
Venom to medicine
Cone snails paralyze prey with peptide toxins, and ω-conotoxin's precise blockade of N-type calcium channels interrupts pain-signal transmission in the spinal cord. Ziconotide is a landmark example of a marine venom peptide developed into an approved drug.
Intrathecal delivery
Because the peptide does not cross the blood-brain barrier, it must be infused into the cerebrospinal fluid through an implanted pump. This delivery constraint is often used to teach how a peptide's physical properties dictate its route of administration.
Sequence
One-letter sequence commonly cited for Ziconotide (educational; isoforms and modifications may differ):
CKGKGAKCSRLMYDCCTGSCRSGKC
Residues plotted ~100° apart around an α-helix — clustering of one color reveals an amphipathic face.
Structure & chemistry
Molecular identity & reference confidence
Source-supported reference
Reference values are taken from the cited molecular record or curated profile. A database match is not independent laboratory verification; modifications, counter-ions, and formulations can change the measured mass.
- Molecular form
- Ziconotide (source record; form not independently established)
- Species
- Not established by this molecular identity audit
- Termini (N / C)
- Not specified / Not specified
Average reference mass
Reference policy updated: 2026-10-05
- IUPHAR/BPS source snapshot · 2026-10-01
- PubChem molecular record · 2026-10-01
- Molecular formula
- C102H172N36O32S7
- Average reference mass
- ≈ 2,639.2
- Status
- Approved medicine in at least one jurisdiction (IUPHAR record)
- PubChem CID: 16135415
- IUPHAR ligand: 2536
- ChEMBL: CHEMBL4594214
- CAS RN: 1283221-32-8
- UNII: 7I64C51O16
Chemistry values: IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology, PubChem · fetched 2026-10-01.
Clinical development snapshot
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 14 registered studies with “Ziconotide” as an intervention (snapshot 2026-10-01). A registry footprint is not evidence of efficacy or approval.
| NCT | Title | Phase | Status | Updated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCT07733427 | Evaluating the Effectiveness of AIT in the Treatment of Pain Related to Pancreatic Cancer | Not applicable | not yet recruiting | 2026-09-10 |
| NCT07499882 | Intrathecal Ziconotide in Chemotherapy Induced Peripheral Neuropathy | — | not yet recruiting | 2026-03-30 |
| NCT04321408 | OP2C : Prialt® Observatory in Clinical Practice | — | recruiting | 2025-08-17 |
| NCT06541184 | Ziconotide for Non-cancer Pain by Intrathecal Administration | — | recruiting | 2025-02-27 |
| NCT00996983 | Safety and Activity Study of Intrathecally Administered Ziconotide for Neuropathic Pain in Patients With Cance | Phase 2 | unknown | 2023-03-24 |
| NCT03321955 | Ziconotide as First-Line IDT | Phase 4 | completed | 2021-01-12 |
Ziconotide — reconstitution calculator
Enter how much peptide is in the vial and how much diluent (e.g. bacteriostatic water) is added. The tool returns the resulting solution concentration — and, for any amount you type, the volume it corresponds to. This is educational arithmetic, not a dosing recommendation.
Reference form: Ziconotide (source record; form not independently established)Average reference mass: 2,639.2 Da
Enter an amount to see the volume it corresponds to.
Educational concentration mathematics only. This tool does not recommend a dose, amount, or protocol, and nothing here is medical advice. Many peptides are not authorized by Health Canada for human use — see our reconstitution and bacteriostatic-water guides for context.
FAQ about Ziconotide
What is Ziconotide?+
Ziconotide is the synthetic form of an ω-conotoxin, a 25-amino-acid peptide from cone snail venom that selectively blocks N-type voltage-gated calcium channels. Delivered directly into cerebrospinal fluid by an intrathecal pump, it is an approved therapeutic for severe, refractory chronic pain. Content here is educational only.
What Canadian product status is recorded for Ziconotide?+
Canadian product status for Ziconotide has not been verified in this profile. No verified record here does not mean no authorization exists. Status depends on the product, formulation and use; consult Health Canada's product records.
What is the typical length of Ziconotide?+
Ziconotide is commonly described as approximately 25 amino acids (Conotoxin analgesic).
Related peptides
References & further reading
- 1.Lyseng-Williamson et al. (2006). Ziconotide. CNS Drugs
- 2.Strigenz (2014). Ziconotide. J Pain Palliat Care Pharmacother
- 3.Fisher et al. (2005). A consensus statement regarding the present suggested titration for prialt (ziconotide). Neuromodulation
- 4.Lynch et al. (2006). Intrathecal ziconotide for refractory chronic pain. Ann Pharmacother
- 5.Lin et al. (2024). A comprehensive review on ziconotide. Heliyon
- 6.Rubiu et al. (2024). A Benefit/Risk Assessment of Intrathecal Ziconotide in Chronic Pain: A Narrative Review. J Clin Med
- 7.Sanford (2013). Intrathecal ziconotide: a review of its use in patients with chronic pain refractory to other systemic or intrathecal analgesics. CNS Drugs
- 8.Rauck et al. (2009). Intrathecal ziconotide for neuropathic pain: a review. Pain Pract
- 9.PubChem — compound summary for Ziconotide (CID 16135415)
- 10.Wikipedia — Ziconotide